Enthusiasm October 2012

Sunday afternoon. Sitting at my desk. Updating this site.

Image

Entrance to UCL Geography on Gower Street

I started a new job on 1st October as a research fellow at UCL. I am a joint appointment between the Department of Geography and the Extreme Citizen Science research group (ExCiteS). I’ve blogged about my project before on here. I have a three year award from the ESRC to examine what motivates and sustains participation in citizen science projects and how we might harness enthusiasm for citizen science in an attempt to monitor environments for health. The recent ‘ash tree’ alert being a case in point.

I am writing a series of blog posts around the first month of my new role. But the highlights so far have been working with some very passionate project partners at Forest Research and the Sylva Foundation, as well as making the acquaintance of the team behind the Open Air Laboratories (OPAL) surveys.

Leave a Reply

