Recommendations for RGS-IBG Day Two #ac2012

If I spend too long looking at the programme, the more difficult it is to select what to go to. As Wednesday is the day of my session and fieldtrip – I’ve had to be very selective – this makes me sad because there is soooooooooo much on!

Session 1: My first session of the day will have to be ‘Geography in Interdisciplinary Research: Threat or Opportunity?‘ sponsored by the GIScRG. I’ve worked on an ‘interdisciplinary’ project, or do I mean ‘multidisciplinary’ project, and we still don’t really have this terminology nailed. I’ll be interested to hear how qualitative and quantitative geographers describe the current state of play during this session.

I will also highlight a couple of other sessions that if I weren’t pressed for time – I’d definitely enjoy – ‘Historical Geographies of Creative Economies 1 and 2‘ … crafty! I also like the look of ‘Geography and Post-Phenomenology‘ and ‘Continental European Geographers and World War II‘ – both sessions would definitely challenge my theory knowledge. Finally, my good friend Katherine Brickell (incidentally you can find here new blog here) has two sessions on ‘Home Unmaking 1 and 2‘ in session 2 and 3. ARGH – the choices!

Session 2: The next session I’ve chosen is ‘Geography, Science, and Machines c.1750-1960‘ – according to the programme it is unsponsored, which is a real shame, but I do hope it gets some good attendance. I’m going to blog soon about a recent workshop I went to ‘Geography, Technology and Instruments of Exploration, c.1780-c.1960‘ and I think this session will offer some useful parallels. As you may know my PhD research and subsequent postdoctoral work has involved close collaboration with the Science Museum, therefore this session incorporating transport technologies, timber supply in the Baltic, machine power vs labour power, First World War anti-aircraft ballistics, plus tidal machines, really does push forward what has been studied so far by geographers in terms of technology. I think we’ll hear some interesting and novel histories.

Very cool Tunnock’s cushion belonging to my colleague 🙂

Then lunch! I wonder what we will be having for lunch/tea breaks in Edinburgh – will there be Tunnock’s bars?!?!?!?! Remember #Tunnocksgate from RGS 2010?

Session 3: In my previous post, I talked about the value of plenary sessions. I think Day 2 I will go for another plenary session, this time: ‘Chair’s plenary lecture, invited by the International Geographical Union (IGU) ‘Environmental (In)securities’. This lecture will be provided by Simon Dalby, as yet there is no abstract, but his webpage reveals his interests:

Since coming to Carleton I have taught political geography courses in the geography department and I have extended my research on both critical geopolitics and environmental security to consider, among other things, the contemporary debates about globalization. I have worked on a  project to examine the politics of community in facing environmental threats of various kinds. Field work data from Cape Breton was analysed in conjunction with my colleague Fiona Mackenzie’s research on the Island of Harris in Scotland.

Most recently my concerns with geopolitics and environment have converged in considerations of globalization and the current debate about American foreign policy and the theme of empire. Over the next few years I plan to work on the current Bush Administration’s military policies and the “imperial” themes in the  debates about the war on terror, national missile defense and the invasion of Iraq, as well as the global patterns of consumption which relate to what these military strategies supposedly render secure.

Sounds like  it is going to be a thought-provoking plenary – my research has turned towards environmental concerns, so this is definitely one for me. However, there is a ***clash*** for cultural/historical geographers interested in climate, check out ‘Historical and Cultural Narratives of Climate Security’

****DRUMROLL****

Sessions 4 and 5: Well, where else are you going to be? It’s ‘The Geography of Enthusiasm: Exploration and Fieldwork’ sessions. It would be great to see you there. I’ve convened them with my colleagues Hannah Neate (UCLan) and Ruth Craggs (Hull) as part of our Architectural Enthusiasm project. You can read more about the project here. Our first session is a series of papers from scholars at various stages of their academic career. We can guarantee some interesting, amusing and enthusiastic geographies. This session is followed by our now fully booked ‘fieldtrip‘ exploring Modernist Edinburgh, specifically sites within and beyond the University of Edinburgh.

So there you have it – my recommendations for Day Two of the conference. I haven’t even mentioned the numerous drink receptions. But if there is one – and you’re around, go along. A chance to mingle with friends and new geographers. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Recommendations for RGS-IBG Day Two #ac2012

  1. Pingback: RGS-IBG Annual Conference, Edinburgh 2012 « The Culture of Enthusiasm

Leave a Reply

