Recommendations for RGS-IBG Day One #ac2012

I always like to take a look at the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) annual conference programme before it starts. You can do the same, it is accessible online here. So what do I do – I first take a look at all the session titles, marking off one in each time slot that sounds interesting. I then dig a little deeper and read the paper titles. I don’t really read the abstract for the session because often they bear no relation to the papers finally selected. Great – so now I’ve got more sessions on my list than I can ever possibly attend – but that just shows how rich and varied our field is. I like to dip in and out of some sessions, plus, I also like to take a bit of time for myself during the conference – to catch up with colleagues or enjoy a coffee (and a Tunnocks bar) in the sunshine at the Royal Geographical Society. Although this year – we’re in Edinburgh and I can’t wait. My first RGS conference was in Glasgow when it was twinned with the IGU.  So here are my recommendations for #ac2012 (I’ve included links to these sessions below – just click on the session title or numbered sessions).

Tuesday 3rd July

  • Sessions 1 and 2: I think I’ll start the day with a spot of Ludic Geographies (1 and 2) – my friends Tara Woodyer (Portsmouth) and Fraser MacDonald (Edinburgh) have convened these sessions. What could be better than exploring our playful side on the first morning – I am hoping it will set the tone for the rest of the conference, opening my eyes and ears to the moments of playfulness, magic and, dare I say, enchantment in geography.

Yep, our first ****CLASH****  ‘Hope in a securitised world: geographies and histories of occupation’ also looks good, so does ‘Wanted, dead or Alive: Critical Geographies of Human-Animal Encounters (1): Dead? [and] (2) Alive?” The paper  in this second session that caught my eye was by Bill Adams: ASBO Elephants: tags, tolerance and the language of delinquency. Who doesn’t love the sound of that paper?

  • Session 3: I’ll then move on to a slightly more formal session: Chair’s plenary lecture, sponsored by Transactions of the IBG: ‘Security and Insecurity at Home: A Spatial Financial Paradox’ I usually enjoy the plenary sessions – with ideas from geographical theory applied to real world issues on a very grand scale. Plenary sessions are also an opportunity to hear really great orators. Standing up in front of 500 people is very different from the 40 or so in a stuffy seminar room. Plus, the rooms used for plenary sessions are often air-conditioned and a welcome place to retreat to after lunch.
  • Sessions 4 and 5: This afternoon is going to involve some tough choices. Sadly, I can’t be in two places at once. So my recommendations are – if you’re interested in the environment and people’s relationships to it, with a bit of wellbeing and ecosystem services thrown in – I’d go to ‘The role of natural environments in health and wellbeing’ (1 and 2).  However, if you’re interested in more-than-human geographies, then these two sessions are probably for you. ‘More-than-human geographies: from coexistence to conflict and killing’ (1 and 2). I heard one of the convenor’s Franklin Ginn (Edinburgh) speak at last year’s conference – his paper on slugs was tremendous, particularly the story of the lady flushing the blighters down the toilet. So, I think these two sessions will deliver the same amount of gallows humour. I mean, we’ve all swotted a fly or trapped a wasp or spider under a glass, haven’t we.

3 thoughts on “Recommendations for RGS-IBG Day One #ac2012

  1. DrHG this looks fabulous. It makes me very jealous because I can’t make the IBG-RGS conference this year. It clashes directly with the Institute of Australian Geographers conference in Sydney. Eek! But look out for my AUSCCER colleague Gordon Waitt, who will be in Edinburgh flying the Aussie flag…

  2. Pingback: Recommendations for RGS-IBG Day Two #ac2012 « The Culture of Enthusiasm

Leave a Reply

