Geography Christmas Present

Okay – so what do you buy a geographer for Christmas? A compass? A cagoule? Some colouring pencils? A clipboard? Oh I know –  a fleece? Nah, you don’t want to buy geographers those things. They have them already. Look what I got for Christmas…

I’ve had to blog about this picture because I am sure some of my followers will appreciate it. It’s a framed print of an exquisite photograph of Tenzing Norgay and Edmund Hillary, 3 days after their reached the summit of Everest in 1953. For those of you interested, I wrote my MA dissertation on the 50th anniversary celebrations of the first ascent of Mount Everest – and these two were my companions on that journey – from a small climbing hut in North Wales to the Odeon in Leicester Square and a gala film screening attended by the Queen, plus numerous events at the RGS and Alpine Club celebrating their achievement.

The official title of this image according to the RGS website is: Tenzing Norgay and Edmund Hillary drink tea in the Western Cwm. However, I have been reliably informed by my historical geography colleague that they were in fact drinking a lemon concoction made up by Hillary. Superb.

This picture takes pride of place on the wall in my kitchen. It is all getting a bit too close to home…only a few years ago I was writing about telecommunications enthusiasts who have telephones dotted about their houses…what with the framed Ordnance Survey map hanging on the wall in the lounge I think I might be a geography enthusiast.

2 thoughts on “Geography Christmas Present

Leave a Reply

